Databases

 

Online Catalogs & Databases


Access to many of these databases is funded by The Library of Michigan and the federal LSTA program.

Online Catalogs & Databases


A                                                                                                                        

Academic Seach Complete  MeL Logo

Designed for academic institutions. Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research. Coverage on a wide range of topics. Includes peer-reviewed full text resources for STEM research. Social sciences and the humanities also covered.

Adult Core Skills from Learning Express Library  MeL Logo

Practice for the U.S. Citizenship exam in English or Spanish. Build your math and reading skills. Includes eBook study help as well as an eBook guide to getting a green card. Create a free account to access tools to help you do well on these tests.

Agricola  MeL Logo

From the National Agricultural Library. Contains citations about all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Includes: journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports. Coverage: 1970 – current.

Alt Health Watch  MeL Logo

Provides information on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness. Sources include journals (some peer-reviewed) and reports.

Applied Science & Technology Source  MeL Logo

Broad coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. Content derives from leading trade journals, professional and technical society publications, and conference proceedings.

Art & Architecture Source  MeL Logo

Covers fine, decorative, and commercial arts. Also covers architecture and architectural design. Features full text articles and indexing and abstracts for journals, books, podcasts, and more. Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. For use by art scholars, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.

Associates Programs Source  MeL Logo

Articles on topics often taught in community colleges. Topics include: accounting, agriculture, child care, cosmetology, cooking, food service, forestry, graphic arts, hospitality management, interior design, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, and welding.

AtoZdatabases  MeL Logo

Detailed information on 30 million businesses and executives and 2 million new businesses. Includes data on over 200 million residents as well as new movers/homeowners. Special features include a background and criminal history search. Information provided on U. S. healthcare professionals. Includes a jobs database and email marketing.

AutoMate  MeL Logo

Repair information and schedules, diagrams, parts and labor estimates, service alerts, and recalls. Covers thousands of domestic and imported vehicles.

B                                                                                                                        

Biography Reference Center  MeL Logo

More than 450,000 biographies. Includes complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine as well as thousands of narrative biographies.

Britannica Learning Zone  MeL Logo

Pre K – 2nd grade. Play and read to learn letters, numbers, shapes, and more.

Britannica School  MeL Logo

Nonfiction content geared for K-12 students. Includes over 132,000 encyclopedia articles, 103,000 images, 7,500 multimedia elements, more than 27,000 eBooks, and novels and essays. Tools include translation for 50+ languages and read-aloud functionality. Includes Lexile ranges and alignment with Michigan Department of Education Academic Standards across a variety of subjects.

Britannica School Elementary  MeL Logo

Grades 3-4. Find information on countries, animals, and people. Watch and learn with videos, games, and activities.

Britannica School High  MeL Logo

Quick facts and in-depth information on history, geography, people, places, science, and more. Biographies, world atlas, countries comparison, articles, and interactive resources are available.

Britannica School Middle  MeL Logo

Grades 5-7. Find maps, photos, articles, and famous people and places. Compare countries and tour the U.S.A. For homework help and your curiosity.

Business Book Summaries  MeL Logo

Provides concise, comprehensive summaries of the best business books. Professionals and students can use these to keep up with the latest information in the business world.

C                                                                                                                        

Career Preparation from LearningExpress Library  MeL Logo

Includes a resume builder where you can save, edit, and print. Explore a variety of careers including allied health, law enforcement, and nursing. Prepare for occupation exams including civil service, commercial driver’s license, cosmetology, teaching, and more. Prepare to join the military or become an officer. Create a free account to access tools to help you do well on these exams.

Caribbean Search  MeL Logo

In-depth, full text information about the countries and people of the Caribbean.

Central & Eastern European Academic Search  MeL Logo

Information on a variety of topics of importance to researchers of Central and Eastern Europe. Includes resources on history, business, and law in a number of European languages.

College Admissions Test Preparation from LearningExpress Library  MeL Logo

Practice tests, preparation eBooks, and tutorials for the ACT®, SAT, 12 AP subjects, PSAT/NMSQT, and TOEFL iBT® exams. Create a free account to access tools to help you do well on your college admissions tests and essay. Create a free account to access tools to help you do well on your college admissions tests and essay.

College Students from LearningExpress Library  MeL Logo

Math, reading, grammar, and science review with eBooks. Practice tests for six graduate school record exams including the GRE, LSAT, and MCAT. Includes multiple college placement exams including ACCUPLACER and ASSET preparation. Includes practice for the CLEP exams. Create a free account to access tools to help you do well on your college admissions tests and essay.

Computer Skills Tutorial from LearningExpress Library  MeL Logo

Offers 90+ courses on topics such as computer basics, Internet basics, Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop, and MS Office tools like Word, Outlook, Access, Excel, PowerPoint, and SharePoint. Create a free account to access these tools.

Consumer Health Complete  MeL Logo

Supports the health and wellness information needs of patients. Covers mainstream medicine as well as complementary and holistic medicine.

Consumer Health Information in Arabic  MeL Logo

Offers detailed answers to the 200 most-commonly-asked health questions. Provides answers in evidence-based reports that feature illustrations and easy-to-read text.

Consumer Health Information in Spanish  MeL Logo

Offers detailed answers to the 200 most-commonly-asked health questions. Provides answers in evidence-based reports that feature illustrations and easy-to-read text.

Consumer Reports  MeL Logo

Provides clear reviews of commonly purchased products. Consumer Reports uses careful research, consumer insights, journalism, and policy expertise to help you inform purchase decisions. Also works to improve the products and services that businesses deliver, and drive regulatory and fair competitive practices.

D                                                                                                                        

DemographicsNow  MeL Logo

Business and residential tool providing access to demographic data. Drill down to the city or even neighborhood level. Identify markets and audiences in your community. Ideal for supporting small business and local economic development activities. Strong tool for businesses and non-profits alike.

E                                                                                                                        

Early World of Learning  MeL Logo

Grades PreK-3. Follow Trek and Taffy the cat around the world. Share their love of colors, numbers, and other fun things. Come inside for stories and pictures.

eBook Academic Collection  MeL Logo

Thousands of titles ranging from literary criticism to health, mathematics, sports, and religion. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.

eBook Business Collection  MeL Logo

A key resource for academic and business school libraries. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.

eBook High School Collection  MeL Logo

For high school students and educators. There is a selection of teacher resources and titles align with Common Core Curriculum Standards. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.

eBook K-8 Collection  MeL Logo

Titles that support K-8 students across all subject areas. Also features a selection of teacher resources to support educators and administrators including Common Core alignment. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.

eBook Public Library Collection  MeL Logo

Large collection of reference books featuring titles for both adults and kids. Covers a wide variety of topics from self-help and fitness to cooking and personal finance. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.

Education Source  MeL Logo

Provides scholarly research for education students, professionals, and policy makers. Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Covers specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos  MeL Logo

Designed for young Spanish speaking students or those learning Spanish as a second language. Full text articles, maps, flags, and more. Dozens of hands-on activities and links to Spanish language websites. Also includes a visual dictionary.

Entrepreneurial Studies Source  MeL Logo

Resource for business students and researchers. It provides insights on entrepreneurship and small businesses topics. Offers full text business journals, magazines, reference books, case studies, and company profiles.

Environment Complete  MeL Logo

Scholarly, academic coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and related areas.

ERIC: Education Resources Information Center  MeL Logo

Index of journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards, and guidelines on a wide range of education topics. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.

Explora for High Schools  MeL Logo

Provides hundreds of popular magazines and reference books for high school libraries. Covers subjects such as art, history, sports, and music. Includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents. Also includes photos, maps, and flags.

Explora for Middle School  MeL Logo

Magazines and reference books for middle school students. Includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents. Subjects include history, current events, science, sports, and biographies. Also includes photos, maps, and flags.

Explora for Primary Schools  MeL Logo

For elementary school libraries. Content from children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedia entries, and images. Students can learn about animals, musicians, fitness, space exploration, and much more.

Explora for Public Libraries  MeL Logo

Arts, biography, business, current events, geography and culture, health, history and social science, science and math.

F                                                                                                                        

FDSys (Federal Digital System)

Freely available materials. FDsys
provides free online access to official Federal Government publications which
include Congressional, Presidential and Federal agency materials. Through
FDsys, you are able to search, browse and download documents and publications.

H                                                                                                                        

Health Source – Consumer EditionMeL Logo

Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women’s health, children’s health, and more. Information comes from magazines, books, Clinical Reference System reports, and pamphlets.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition  MeL Logo

Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines. Provides indexing, abstracts and full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.

High School Equivalency Center from LearningExpress Library  MeL Logo

Skills building in reading, writing, grammar, spelling, and math. Practice for the GED in English and Spanish. Practice the HiSET and the Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC). Create a free account to access tools to help you do well on these tests.

History Reference Center  MeL Logo

Documents, photos, maps, film, and video from leading history journals. Also includes biographies of historical figures.

Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center  MeL Logo

Subject areas include arts & crafts; games & electronics; models; needlework; outdoors & nature; and scrapbooking & paper craft.

Home Improvement Reference Center  MeL Logo

Includes maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating, home & garden, etc. Includes more than 130 reference books.

Humanities Source  MeL Logo

Covers literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Ideal for students, researchers, and educators interested in the humanities.

J                                                                                                                        

Jewish Studies Source  MeL Logo

Offers a multidisciplinary view of the study of Jewish civilization, from its historical origins to the present. Nearly 350 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jewish figures.

L                                                                                                                        

LearningExpress Library  MeL Logo

Includes a resume builder you can save, edit, and print. Over 700 courses, practice tests, tutorials, eBooks, and flashcards. Practice tests include ACT, SAT, PSAT and TOEFL, as well as trade certification, civil service, math and reading tests, and U.S. citizenship. Create a free account to access tools to help you do well on your college admissions tests and essay.

Legal Information Reference Center  MeL Logo

Search over 12,800 state-specific legal forms by topic including Adoption, Bankruptcy, Name Changes, and more. A majority of the full text legal reference books provided through NOLO.

Legal Source  MeL Logo

A scholarly resource of current issues, studies, and trends of the legal world. For attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, and paralegals.

Library & Information Science Source  MeL Logo

Journals and periodicals that help librarians and researchers keep pace with the latest trends in the field.

Literary Reference Center  MeL Logo

Includes over 14,000 short stories and 54,000+ poems. Covers information on thousands of authors and their works. Topics include: plot summaries, literary criticism, book reviews, novels, and author interviews.

M                                                                                                                       

MAS Complete  MeL Logo

Designed for high school libraries and offers coverage of popular high school magazines and reference books. Wide range of subjects offered including art, history, sports and music. Over 1,000,000 photos, maps and flags.

MasterFILE Complete  MeL Logo

Broad collection of popular full-text magazines and reference books. Contains Consumer Reports. Covers subjects including: business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY, and fashion. Also includes photos, maps, and flags.

MyHeritage Library Edition  MeL Logo

Family history resource including more than 6 billion historical ​records from the United States, Europe, Latin America, and other regions. Includes the full USA federal census (1790-1940); census of England and Wales (1841-1901); U.S. World War II Army Enlistment as well as records of Union and Confederate Civil War soldiers. Over 2 billion family trees.

N                                                                                                                        

Newspaper Source Plus  MeL Logo

Includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. Offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Primary full coverage newspapers are The Washington Post and USA Today.

Novelist K-8 Plus  MeL Logo

Find just the right book by subject, age, awards won, books made into movies, and much more. Read reviews and learn about the author. Create your own reading wish list. Includes tools for teachers such as Lexile levels and Common Core standards.

NoveList Plus  MeL Logo

Contains information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles. Features lists of award-winning books, book discussion guides, Read-a-Like recommendations, and complete series information. Also includes reader ratings and reviews. Create your own reading wish list.

O                                                                                                                        

OAIster (Free Version)

This catalog of digitized materials includes books, articles and multimedia, representing multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,000 contributors worldwide.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context  MeL Logo

Provides different views about issues that help students develop critical thinking skills. This resource brings balance and perspective to contemporary issues using arguments from experts.

P                                                                                                                        

Poetry & Short Story Reference Center  MeL Logo

Hundreds of thousands of poems, as well as short stories, biographies, and essays. Topics include the poetic forms, movements, and techniques.

Points of View Reference Center  MeL Logo

Presents multiple sides of over 400 issues. Helps students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.

Political Science Complete  MeL Logo

Designed for students, researchers, and government institutions. Covers political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of current discourse.

Professional Development Collection  MeL Logo

Specialized information for librarians, teachers, and education researchers.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  MeL Logo

Covers a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences, and related disciplines. For psychologists, counselors, researchers, and students.

R                                                                                                                        

Read It!  MeL Logo

For middle and high school students and adults. Helps to build reading skills and improve study habits. Includes tests.

Recursos Para Hispanohablantes from LearningExpress Library  MeL Logo

Learning tools, career, and citizenship exam practice in Spanish. Create a free account to access tools to help you do well on these tests.

Referencia Latina  MeL Logo

Spanish-language resource. Covers academic and non-academic subjects. Offers content from reference books, general interest magazines, health reports, and other sources. Daily updates from a dozen newspapers from ten Latin American countries and more than 2,500 health reports.

Regional Business News  MeL Logo

Regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces from 1990. Includes newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, and newswires.

S                                                                                                                        

School Center from LearningExpress Library  MeL Logo

Grades 4 through 12 skills improvement in math, writing and grammar, reading comprehension, social studies, and vocabulary and spelling through tests, eBooks, and tutorials. U.S. Constitution study and review, advanced math, and logic available for high school students. Create a free account to access tools to help you do well in school.

Science Reference Center  MeL Logo

Contains material from science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. More than 4,000 full text, full-length biographies. Includes: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, the environment, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, and wildlife.

Small Business Reference Center  MeL Logo

Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business. Includes information on accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. State-specific information included.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center  MeL Logo

Small Engine Repair Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Repair guides for small engines and routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.). Also includes guides on extensive repairs such as engine and transmission disassembly. Coverage includes lawn mowers, motorcycles, tractors, and snowmobiles. More than 450 full text reference books with photos and illustrations, information on more than 25 years of engine models, and coverage of more than 90,000 repairs.

T                                                                                                                        

Turfgrass Information File (TGIF)  MeL Logo

Cooperative project of the United States Golf Association and the Michigan State University Libraries’ Turfgrass Information Center. Provides bibliographic and descriptive records of all types of work related to turfgrass culture. Established in 1983. Over 50% full text content.

V                                                                                                                        

Vocational Studies Premier  MeL Logo

Designed for two-year colleges, this resource offers support for vocational programs. Subjects include: counseling, biotechnology, cosmetology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, law enforcement, and veterinary assistant.

W                                                                                                                       

World Book Kids  MeL Logo

Grades Pre K – 5. Easy-to-read content for elementary school learners. Hundreds of activities, science projects and experiments.

WorldCat (Free Version) 

WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos — all of the physical items you’re used to getting from libraries. WorldCat.org lets you find an item of interest and then locate a library near you that owns it.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.